noobci.blogg.se

Bsu university pulse
Bsu university pulse











  1. #Bsu university pulse how to
  2. #Bsu university pulse update

Vice President of the Student Body Marianne Ramirez-Gomez narrated her daily hair routine and Carryl showed how she puts in twists – a protective style that uses extensions. Two demonstrations gave audience members the chance to gain some insight right then and there. “I felt beautiful with my curly hair and it was so important for me to show that.” “YouTube saved my life, it taught me to really care for my hair,” said Daniels.

bsu university pulse

Panelists unanimously agreed that video demonstrations from other women of color helped them discover what works for them.

#Bsu university pulse how to

With the growing popularity of the natural hair movement, more people are sharing tips and tricks of how to care for curly or kinky hair. Please navigate to our subgroups to sign up for CTL workshops and events or Service-Learning opportunities. “So, I cut all my hair off – like I was bald.” While fanning away tears, she said, “I felt really liberated.” Bronco Impacts (through the GivePulse platform) is an event management tool for the Center for Teaching and Learning, Service-Learning, and the IDEA Shop. “I made myself a promise that I was going to be natural by the start of freshman year,” said Carryl. “It was my little triumph,” she said.Ĭarryl, Daniels, and Nworu also testified to chopping off most – if not all – of their hair because of breakage caused by heat, chemicals, and/or dye.

bsu university pulse

Spirited and motivated, we learn, grow, and take flight. In high school, Igihozo decided to shave her hair off. Ball State University, commonly referred to as Ball State or BSU, is a public coeducational research university in Muncie, Indiana, United States, with two satellite facilities in Fishers and Indianapolis. We value service and have a passion for improving our community, both locally on campus and the greater San Antonio area. In her testimony, Igihozo said, “in Rwanda, straight-hair is seen as professional, so I kept getting perms.” Years of this process resulted in irreversible damage. Established in 1945, the Triniteers are the oldest fraternity on the campus of Trinity University. This approach to fitting in with euro-centric standards coerced women to try methods that created unhealthy results. I realized I’m trying to fit in with this picture of white perfection.” “My biggest thing,” said Nworu, “is accepting my hair for how it grows out of my scalp. It’s definitely a process of self-acceptance.” Igihozo said “even though I’ve come to a place where I embrace my hair, I still feel like I don’t measure up to other people.

#Bsu university pulse update

Most began from young childhood and concluded at present-day update – suggesting a never-ending process. Testimonies from the women circled around a common theme of developing a positive self-esteem throughout their hair-care journeys. Panelists from left to right as listed above. In addition to President Nworu, panelists included Cherisse Daniels, the Assistant Director of Multicultural Programs Gloria Igihozo, Chair of the Multicultural Council senior Horacia Carryl and Alexis Robinson, First-year Liaison of BSU. The background information provided a foundation for the coming panel conversation. “I feel like it touches on a lot of issues within the community.”Īfter explaining the hair types ranging from 1A to 4C (straighter to more tightly coiled), the audience watched a video that ‘debunked’ myths about black hair, such as stigmas that curls are unruly, unkempt or unprofessional. “What she quoted is actually very significant,” said Nworu. Natural hair is about loving ourselves for who we are completely and embracing the one part of us that society refused to acknowledge as beautiful.” “The idea of black women wearing their kinks and coils in their natural state is about redefining beauty and euro-centric standards of such. President of BSU Nora Nworu opened with a quote from Erica Thurman about the experience of black hair. As a continuation of last year’s “How’d You Get Your Hair Like That?” this event featured demonstrations, a panel discussion and prize giveaways. If there's anything we can do to improve our site, please let us know.The Black Student Union hosted a Hair Expo on Saturday in celebration of beauty within the black community. This link will allow you to order standard items such as: After you enter your username and password, select the "Online Catalog Orders" Link on the left-hand side of the page.

bsu university pulse

If you already have a username created for you please click on the "Customer Login" link at the top right of this page. Please contact us at or 285-8420 and someone will assist you. If you are ordering items from our "Online Catalog" you will need to have a username set up for you by our staff. Ordering Business Cards and other standard catalog items: If you would like to place an order or get help with a new project, please select the appropriate link from the menu bar located at the top of this page.













Bsu university pulse